Monday, November 18, 2013

Go Ahead, Play Like a Girl (and find out how to enter to WIN over $5000 in prizes from Verizon!)

Growing up, I lived in a "boy dominant" household.  Four athletic brothers are a powerful (literally) thing.  Boys are tough, but they taught me to be tough as well.  They (along with my parents) also taught me to be involved in and appreciate sports.

As a result, sports has long been a passion of mine.  From softball to field hockey, I've always cherished my memories of playing on a team.  I loved going to practice, accomplishing goals and staying in shape.  I've envisioned the same lifestyle for my girls.

My older daughter, at the age of three, made it clear she wasn't into dance lessons.  We finished the session and tried soccer the next year.  This went over like a fart in church.  She was agile and athletic, but hated people "running at her."

The next year, she tried gymnastics, and she cried the whole way to the first practice.  But when she came out of practice?  All smiles.  We had found her "thing."

Since that day, she's competed in dozens of meets and achieved more skills than I could have ever imagined.  Her body is strong, and she could show every boy in her class a thing or two about how to do a pull up.  Or a push up.  She wears shirts such as "I don't need boys I can win by myself" and she loves to tell her football playing brothers, "If gymnastics were easy it would be called football."

They don't like that very much.

I've seen how being involved in sports gives kids self esteem.  Gymnastics did this for my daughter, and I've watched her work towards goals and face many fears.  At one meet, she had to turn her handstand on the beam to dismount.  It was a required skill.

She hated this skill.  This skill was the source of many tears and tummy aches.  We went to this meet and as she mounted the beam, my tummy ached.  The thirty seconds she did her routine seemed like an eternity, and when it was time to dismount I held my breath.

And then she turned it.

My baby girl scored a 9.0 on beam at her first meet of the season, staring down a skill that had her in tears just a week before.

That meet was almost three years ago, and she is still kicking butt in the gym.  I'm just as proud watching her as I am watching my boys on that football field.  I will forever stand behind my belief that all kids need to be involved in something, whether it be sports or band or chess club.

Being involved keep kids out of trouble, and it gives them purpose.  What I love about sports is that is also teaches them how to play on a team, stay healthy and get up and keep going even when things aren't going great.

Now, the fun stuff.  Enter the Verizon FIOS Play Like a Girl contest and be entered to win over $5,000 in prizes, including a digital camera, from Verizon!  Check out other Play Like a Girl videos on YouTube.

Verizon FiOS gives your family the connection and speed you need to play with the big boys. Share your proudest moment of your daughter’s athletic achievements at You could be chosen to win a grand prize valued at $5,000!

This is a sponsored conversation written by me on behalf of Verizon. The opinions and text are all mine.

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Great Gift Idea: Babbabox

(continued from was delighted. Our theme was Sun, Moon and Stars. Inside my eloquently packaged box I found a book, a make your own constellation frame, a Paper Mache moon night light project, and coloring sheets. There was also a lunar calendar and sport glasses to examine the moon each night.

Considering my daughter is a huge fan of the stars, and takes an interest in constellations, this box was right up her alley. We wasted no time getting to work on the make-your-own constellation frame. She also tucked the sport glasses and lunar calendar away in her room for nightly moon watching. These activities were fun, different and educational. I'd never seen anything like them in a store.

The best part about the crafts? They were easy. I didn’t have to struggle to help my daughter or make a huge mess in the kitchen. The activities were interesting and I didn’t want to stick needles in my eyes as I read the directions.

Everything was very mommy-brain friendly.

Whether you opt to buy an annual membership that includes one box every month, or to just send one theme box as a gift to a child you adore, these boxes are unique and classy.  Parents will love them, and kids will keep busy exploring everything the box has tucked inside.

These past few years I’ve seen the benefits of giving kids an “experience” instead of another toy. These boxes are the best of both worlds. The kids enjoy the package, and they get to experience the crafts and learn about the world around them.

BabbaBox is a theme-based box delivered to your door that allows you to enjoy a little convenience and inspiration! As any parent can attest, the most important thing you can give to your child is quality time. BabbaBox makes this possible by helping you to save time, money, & mindspace.

Just think! Fantastic monthly activities with ALL the materials for kids ages 3-6. Included in the box are 3 projects + 1 bestselling book + digital download + parent surprise gift! 

The best part? Babbabox makes a GREAT unique gift during the holiday season. 

Act now! Get 50% off your first month when you sign up for a monthly membership using the code, SWAY100. Offer expires December 31, 2012.

This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of BabbaBox. The opinions and text are all mine

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Summer at the Beach

The year I got married, my dad purchased a house one block from the ocean.  The house needed some major TLC, and my dad spent months renovating the house to make it his own.  What resulted was a gorgeous house my entire family squeezes into every chance we get from June until the end of August.  We love the dusty picture frames and the sandy floors.  Days are hot and sticky but nights always surprise us with a cool ocean breeze. 

There is truly nothing like time spent by the ocean.

As wonderful as it is to escape from reality, weekends at the beach become a working vacation when you have to worry about four munchkins  After I had my first child, I realized that traveling with kids is certainly not the same as traveling without kids.  You need more supplies and more patience.  Everything takes much longer and if you can't laugh about things when they go wrong, you'll never have a good time.

Because with kids, something will always go wrong.

As my kids got older, taking them places is easier, because they know the drill.  We've taken them to enough places that they adjust to new surroundings.  They know how to sleep away from home, and they look forward to the new scenery.  This summer, they once again were able to spend time with their feet in the sand.  And I'm very thankful we had the few weeks we did at the beach.

If you're planning on heading to the beach this summer (or anytime in the near future) remember these tips to have a fab trip:

  1. Bring sunscreen.  Lots of sunscreen.
  2. Leave the cell behind as much as possible.
  3. Make time for ice cream.
  4. Bring along children's medications such as Tylenol.
  5. Consider packing probiotics, such as Culturelle. Probiotics keep tummies regular.
  6. During downtime, play cards and read books.  
  7. Purchase a large mesh bag for sand toys.  You will cherish this bag. 
  8. Don't forget your camera! 
Bringing your own medicines and probiotics can save you from upset stomachs and a midnight run to the store in case of a fever.  Probiotics such as Culturelle help prevent digestive upset, which is very common when kids are away from home.  They also boost digestive health which keeps kids healthy and their immune systems strong.

Culturelle is an all natural probiotic, and the #1 pediatrician recommend brand.  

Happy Traveling!

**I was compensated for this post.  All opinions expressed are my own.**

Click here to return to It's ALL Good in Mommyhood Homepage 

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Kids Email.Org: Email Accounts for Kids

Kids Email.Org is an email service for kids created with safety and adult supervision in mind.  Unless my kids are asking to play games, I am always hesitant to allow my kids time on the computer.  I am extremely uneasy about my babies learning to navigate cyberspace.  It's tough to keep control over what they are doing online, and one wrong click can lead to viruses and inappropriate websites.

Since being introduced to Kids Email.Org I have been busy creating emails for my munchkins.  I am thrilled with the options, and unlike other sites I have tried Kids Email.Org is VERY user friendly.  When creating an email for your child, the site walks you through several safety options for each account.  One of my favorite options was having a copy of every message (inbox and/or outgoing) to be emailed to my address.  For my younger kids who are eager to have an email, this was a comforting option to have available on the account.

Other excellent safety features include the option to block attachments, pictures and audio files.  You can limit messaging to contacts only, or give them more freedom on the account.  The email site allows the parent to be in control, and the child to have the freedom to email friends and family.

Alongside personalization options such a a signature and decorative background options, this email site pleases kids and adults alike.  My munchkins can now email aunts, uncles, grandparents and friends in a safe, controlled environment I feel comfortable with.
Check out Kids Email.Org and sign up for a free trial.  Your kids will love the email and you will love the safety features and the user friendly site.

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

My Memories Scrapbooking Software

Giveaway closed!  Congrats to IrishTwinsBabyBook!

I have not posted a giveaway in quite a long time.  I have focused on my daily blog for the past year.  Today I am running my first giveaway in a looongggg time.  And I'm excited!

I am giving away ONE My Memories Digital Scapbooking Software download.  Value is $40.00.

Recently I was contacted by My Memories, a digital scrapbooking site.  My Memories is a product I was very excited to sample.  I have been playing around with the site for a few days, and I promise you the possibilities are endless.

Back before I had four munchkins, I was crafty.  After my first two munchkins, I was crafty.  After the next two, "crafty" has been finding time to write a thank you note.

My Memories makes crafty much easier, and you can create with NO mess.  It is completely online, which makes photo uploads a cinch.  With this software you can create photo books, calendars, and videos.

You can even download fun cupcake wrappers.

Here is a peak into the My Memories Scrapbooking software.  You can easily access photos on your computer, select themes and make albums.  You can add embellishments, edit pictures and add text.

To enter this giveaway: Please go to My Memories and leave a comment below with your favorite scrapbooking kit or template.

You can earn up to 4 additional entries by: liking Mommyhood on Facebook, following Mommyhood on Twitter (@goodmommyhood), and following either both or one of my blogs (All Good in Mommyhood and/or MommyViews).

**Please leave separate comment with each entry.  Winner will be chosen by random generator on February 4 , 2012 and notified same day.  Winner has 48 hours to claim prize.**

Good Luck!

Monday, February 28, 2011

ImaginOcean Winner!

18 Powered by RANDOM.ORG

Comment #18 WINS the Family Four Pack of tickets to ImaginOcean in NYC!

Congrats to JenneM, enjoy the show! 

I will be contacting you with details via email.  

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Boudreaux's Butt Paste: A Mommyhood Favorite

This post brought to you by Boudreaux's Butt Paste. All opinions are 100% mine.
Until I had Moopa, I never had to deal with diaper rash.  I read parenting magazines, skimmed those articles, and gratitude washed over me.  Not my munchkins; no diaper rash here.
Enter the Moopa.  Around one year old, when we switched her to milk, she started with a rash.  She also started spitting up like she was four weeks old all over again.  Her pediatrician explained she was lactose intolerant, and her body can't digest the milk well.  Thus, her poops have acid in them because of what her body does to digest the milk.
Of course there were longer, more sophisticated words used to describe her condition.  However, I had three extra munchkins crammed into the tiny examination room with us.  And since this information was gathered somewhere in between "Cut it out!", "Please sit back down". and "EXCUSE ME, I'm SPEAKING to the doctor!"  I dumbed it down and remembered the bare, necessary minimum.
While switching her to lactose free milk helped the spit up, the diaper rash lingered.  One day after a particularly foul diaper the rash took a turn for the worst.  What was a bad diaper rash before was now a full blown, four alarm emergency.
I cringed at the site of her tushie.  Red as a ripe tomato.
I tried what I had on hand.  I went from A&D to Aveeno to Destin.  They did not do the job.  This rash was fierce.
One of my mommy friends recommended Triple Paste.  I used that as an excuse to go to Target.  But when I saw the price I pulled an audible. 
I don't even spend that on shoes.
I purchased Boudreaux's Butt Paste instead.  It was less expensive and I had seen it on Oprah.
I remembered the man who had invented it.  A pharmacist who wanted to provide his customers with an effective cream to treat and prevent diaper rash.
Oprah provides much of my guidance.
I began using the paste immediately.  It had a pleasant aroma, and the cream was thick and smooth.  Within a day I noticed Moopa's skin was less irritated.
And within a week  Moopa's tushie finally received some much needed relief.
A big thanks to Boudreaux's Butt Paste.  From me and the Moopa.
I agreed to write this post because i have first hand experience with Butt Paste, and first hand experience with a stubborn diaper rash.
As always, I love to share what I love.
Any munchkins you know experiencing diaper rash?  Visit Boudreaux's Butt Paste and try a free sample. 
Visit Sponsor's Site